“Around the world, around the world…”

An EVEN FURTHER 5 things I’ve learnt on my travels to Londontown

My previous two travel entries were based around a trip I took to Greece about a month ago. More recently, I packed my bags up again and took a family vacay to London and Miami. SO Amazing! Here are an even further 5 things I have learnt while making my way across the world. First stop – London!

1. Camden is my favourite place on this planet.

I could swear that Camden is the cooking pot where God stewed our world’s population together. Every kind of stereotype, sub-culture and race of person was represented on my visit to Camden market. Incredible! Just the wardrobe alone kept me thoroughly entertained as we made our way through the many, MANY market stalls.

I could live in a market. Yes, I could.

On the drive there, I first made sure that I unleashed the Harry Potter geek from within. King’s Cross station! I couldn’t help but make sure that we made a stop there, so that I could get a picture and then dreamily envision myself playing quidditch. (Stop judging me…)

“Platform 9 and three quarters?! Think you’re bein’ funny, do ya?”

The market was absolutely fantastic though, when we finally got there. Millions of little vintage stores, punk inspired attire, and food stalls from across the world. I’ve never been to a market with little Asian ladies hanging over the counters screaming “Taste! Taste some yummy yummy bourbon chicken!” It was an experience, I must say. The clothes stalls were amaaaazing! The most stunning garments, kept in such beautiful condition. My favourite dress I saw was this one:

I waannnnnt ittt…..

I most definitely couldn’t pull it off, but it was gorgeous nonetheless.

Things took a surreal turn, however, when I came across this store in the middle of the market:

*beep beep boink bleep bop*

Cyberdogs. I felt like I was whipped 5000 years into the future, when I walked into this store. I would have taken photos of the inside, but a rather grumpy little punk at the door told me there was no photography allowed. That’s how all the employees there looked; Extreme neon punk attire, giant spiked or dreadlocked hair and piercings all over. The whole store (two floors of it) was in darkness, the only light source being a UV lighting system. Every garment glowed under the light, from leotards reminiscent of the Jetsons, to make-up that glows under black light, to weird little gadgets that would satisfy any nerd. All-in-all a very surreal, but exciting shopping experience.

2. Real punks don’t like getting their photo taken.

There were so many people in Camden (and London in general) dressed in the most amazing get-ups. I wanted to take a photo of every one and document it, but this becomes very difficult in the hustle and bustle of the London streets.

I saw two awesome looking punks at Camden market and I had a chance to try and take a photo through the crowds. I managed to get this nice blurry one:

Note: The scary punk above is purposefully unidentifyable. This is for my own safety.

The other punk (like he had Spidey-senses or something) stopped walking and turned around to face me across the thousands of people passing between us. The “look” he proceeded to give me, still chills my bones to this day. It was the kind of expression that cuts through crowds. I have never seen a “look” that combines so many emotions before. Disgust, Anger and the intense need to punch me in the face. Needless to say, I almost wet myself and my camera was back in my coat pocket before you could say “Cheese and crackers!”

Never again.

Real punks are scary.

(Shudder)

3. There is no theatre like London West End theatre.

When my mom asked what I would like to do in London, the only thing I was sure of, was that I wanted to go watch a West End musical.

I had read so many good things about “Wicked” online and I had seen it being referenced on TV quite often, so I thought it would be the obvious choice. Also, I had never seen it before and that made it all the more exciting.

The Apollo Victoria theatre… *angels chorus*

What a fantastic choice! The show was incredible. I really, REALLY loved it. It was all about the Wicked Witch of the West telling the story of The Wizard of Oz through her eyes. Lovely music and a really clever script.

I had been waiting for one song in particular, because I had previously heard it on an episode of Glee. (And youtubed a few thousand versions)

Defying gravity.

When it came on, I was so overwhelmed by how amazing the set, costumes and vocals were, I bawled like the biggest musical-loving baby there ever was. Of course, this was then a cue for the lights to come on for interval, only to reveal a wonderfully red and blotchy-faced me. Still, it was SO worth it.

4. Madam Tussauds never gets old.

It really doesn’t. I’ve been a total of three times already, and every time I have a blast. They make new sculptures quite often, so if you only go every few years, there will always be something new for you to look at.

I knew she was real!!!

They’ve also recently opened a 4D Marvel theatre. Such a cool experience and really well done! The storyline involves some of the better known Marvel characters meeting up just outside the Madam Tussauds building, where something goes horribly… horribly… wrong…

Really great effects and a chocolate toffee-apple in hand, I was perfectly happy!

5. I visit museums, therefore I am cultured.

Most of our days were spent in educational surroundings…. Yes, yes, we are incredibly intelligent, cultured travellers.

Our most notable museum visits were…

The Natural History museum:

Where Ben Stiller at?

The Science museum:

The first Apple Mac – front and centre.

And Tate’s Modern art museum:

Whaam! By Roy Lichtenstein – I remember having to analyze this in an art exam. Quite unreal.

Andy Warhol!!! The whole Warhol room was even plastered in his wallpaper design! Cows everywhere.

And that is how I spent 5 days of my globe-trekking… Next stop: Miami! 😀

Zozette

xoxo

About Zozette

Certified animator. Flying squirrel translator. Big time procrastinator. http://bisouszozette.wordpress.com/

2 responses to ““Around the world, around the world…”

  1. Danny

    Nice! Very informative & the funny. You crack me up. You sound like you had an AMAZING time there, I’m glad. Can’t wait to see the Miami post (hint, hint).;)

    • Hold your horses! Hahaha… Miami post will get here when it gets here! LOL
      Thanks though, I did have fantastic time. 😀 And I’m glad my encounters with death (punks) crack you up! 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Tweets

