“Goodness, gracious, great balls of fire!”

Ever since the day I came across Bakerella’s blog and marveled at the perfection that was her delectable creation, Cake pops… I knew that I, too, one day had to taste these fancies and savour their yumminess myself.

I decided to try them out for my birthday party. (I’m not normally the type to test out new recipes on guests, but luckily – these came out too delicious!)

A bit finicky to make, but I would definitely do it again!

Zozette’s slightly mucked-up, but oh SO good Cake pops:

Ingredients:

One box of Ina Paarmans instant chocolate cake (I would have baked my own, but the risk of a flop was too high for my liking.)

One packet of Ina Paarmans chocolate icing (Something I had in the grocery cupboard. I normally make my own.)

A 200g bar of Cadburys milk chocolate

A 90g bar of Nestle Bournville dark chocolate

Cupcake sprinkle toppings

Popsicle Sticks

Instructions:

1. Bake the cake as per instructions.

2. Mix the icing as per instructions.

3. Finely crumble the baked cake into a large bowl. (Although you may not be able to bring yourself to crumble-up a perfectly baked cake, I assure you, it is worth it!)

4. Mix half of the icing into the cake, until all of the cake bits are glued together. (I used the other half of the icing to frost my chocolate cupcakes!)

5. Take up small portions of the mixture and roll them into balls, leaving them on a tray covered in wax paper. Place the tray in the fridge to cool and firm up the cakes.

6. In the meantime, melt down your chocolate on a double boiler. ie: The chocolate goes inside a metal bowl, which rests inside a pot filled with boiling water. Don’t stir the chocolate too much or the consistency will become lumpy and sticky. (Not good)

7. Bring out the cake balls. Take a popsicle stick, dip it in the melted chocolate and press it into the centre of a cake ball. Do this with all of them. You can place them back in the fridge for a while so that the stick… er… really… sticks. ( I didn’t really have time for this step – and also it was mid-summer- You can just imagine the horror. I highly recommend you chill them before proceeding.)

8. Then you take the Cake pops and dip them into the melted chocolate. Cover the whole ball. Let the excess chocolate drip off and leave them, cake-side-up, somewhere to set. (At this point I was fishing cake balls out of my chocolate with the aid of my popsicle sticks. Real chocolate, although much yummier, is a lot thicker when melted. Thicker=Trickier. I ended up letting them set candy apple style, cake side down.)

9. Sprinkle with edible decorations and allow to set.

10. Serve and laugh about the days when you only dreamed of eating Cake pops…

This recipe can vary greatly, depending on what cake and cake icing you decide to use. Bakerella’s original combination was Red velvet cake and cream cheese frosting. (Which sounds AMAZING, and is next on my Cake Pop try-out list.) She also uses cooking chocolate, which is a lot easier to coat things with and most probably cheaper! (My good chocolate tasted better though, I can tell you that!)

Extremely scrumptious and well-received by my party people!

Zozette

xoxo

About Zozette

Certified animator. Flying squirrel translator. Big time procrastinator. http://bisouszozette.wordpress.com/

2 responses to ““Goodness, gracious, great balls of fire!”

  1. Mathapelo

    Thanks for this one lil girl!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

